Connect with us


Kogi Assembly impeaches Deputy Speaker, suspends three principal officers



The Kogi State Home of Meeting on Friday, June 17, impeached the Deputy Speaker, Rt. Hon. Ahmed Muhammed.


The Home additionally impeached three different members; Majority Speaker, Bello Hassan Abdullahi, Deputy Majority chief, Ndakwo Idris and Deputy Chief Whip, Edoko Moses Ododo.


In an emergency sitting held on the Meeting in Lokoja, on Friday June 17, the lawmakers accused Ahmed Muhammed of gross misconduct and arbitrary use of the workplace.


In a movement of pressing significance learn by Hon. Enema Paul, member representing (Dekina/Okura), State Constituency, mentioned 17 lawmakers signed the impeachment of Hon. Ahmed Mohammed and the suspension of the three different principal officers in the home.


The Home introduced Alfa Momoh Rabiu, the lawmaker representing Ankpa II as the brand new deputy speaker of the state meeting.


The brand new principal officers elected are Hon. Muktar Bajeh, (Majority Chief), Umar Isah Tanimu, (Deputy Majority Chief), Enema Paul, (Deputy Chief Whip), and Ahmed Dahiru, (Chief Whip).


The Speaker, Prince Mathew Kolawole had earlier introduced the dissolution of all the home standing committees and appointed Committee members.


The affected officers had been additionally suspended from coming into the home until additional discover.


The Home adjourned sitting until fifth July, 2022.


It was gathered that earlier than the impeachment course of, there was a heavy presence of safety personnel on the Meeting complicated consisting of the Nigerian Police, Nigeria Safety and Civil Defence Corps (NSCDC) and the Division of State Providers (DSS).

Share this Story
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.