Connect with us


Awards for Fayose, Oni, Adebayo, others not politically motivated – Fayemi



Governor Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti State has stated that the approaching state awards to be conferred his predecessors, Ayodele Fayose, Niyi Adebayo, Segun Oni, and 45 others, in addition to a authorized icon, Chief Afe Babalola (SAN), haven’t any political undertone.

Justifying that the 48 awardees had been picked on benefit, Fayemi stated the illustrious Ekiti indigenes had been deemed match for his or her contributions to the state’s improvement in all aspects.

Fayemi, who spoke by the Commissioner for Particular Duties, Alhaji Ayodele Jinadu, revealed this on Wednesday at a press convention heralding the maiden version of a state honour, tagged ‘Oni Uyi Awards 2021’, slated for October 30.

Fayemi stated two former state navy directors, Col. Inua Bawa and Commodore Atanda Yusuf, will profit from the brand new honours designed by his authorities to recognise these he categorised as ‘Architects and Builders’ of Ekiti.

He stated honouring Fayose and Oni, who’re chieftains of the Peoples Democratic Social gathering (PDP), reveals the awards are bereft of political undertone, saying: “It’s historical past that’s bringing us collectively, not politics.

“Governors Ayodele Fayose and Segun Oni are of PDP, however they’ve contributed their quotas. In terms of the difficulty of improvement, Governor Fayemi just isn’t political. The curiosity of Ekiti is supreme and paramount to him”.


The governor said that the classes of honours they are going to be garlanded with embody: Ekiti Distinctive Achievers (EEA), Member of Ekiti Distinctive Achievers (MEEA), Member of Ekiti Meritorious Service (MEMS), Distinguished Buddies of Ekiti, Member of Distinguished Buddies of Ekiti (DFE) and Ekiti Respected Entrepreneurship (ERE).

He added that the conferment of the award is in compliance with the Ekiti State Honours Legislation, 2020, assented to by Fayemi, to recognise and reward distinguished and hardworking people, who’ve excelled of their respective careers and help the event of the state.

Different distinguished Ekiti to be honoured are the Chairman, Committee for the creation of Ekiti State, Chief Deji Fasuan; the present Secretary to the State Authorities, Biodun Oyebanji; Secretary of Yoruba Council of Elders, Dr Kunle Olajide; and the late Mrs Bola Omojola.

Additionally to be garlanded with awards are top-rated conventional rulers just like the Ewi of Ado Ekiti, Oba Rufus Adeyemo Adejugbe; the Ajero of Ijero, Oba Joseph Adewole; Alaaye of Efon, Oba Emmanuel Aladejare; and the Obanla of Ijesa Isu, Oba Gabriel Adeniyi.

Akeredolu defends Fayemi’s absence as S/West govs go to Tinubu

Share this Story
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *